Thrifting Is Truly Amazing!

I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before, but one of my favorite things to do is to go thrift shopping.

tumblr_mihqoixvp81s5it2uo1_500

I’m not really sure why I like thrifting so much. I think part of it is that I just really enjoy the thrill of finding something really amazing and unique, with plenty of life left in it, for a really great price! Here are some of the things I’ve found over the years at thrift stores, antique stores, flea markets, Salvation Army, Goodwill, etc. that were seriously incredible finds:
Image

Sometimes I find things that are a bit more on the ordinary side, such as clothes, books, and jewelry, which is fine because I save so much more money buying that item at a thrift store than if I had bought it new somewhere else!

ImageSo now, let me talk a bit about the newest addition to my growing list of thrifty finds from last week!

I spent a good part of Wednesday at multiple thrift stores in search of a cheap wooden table with decent legs on it that could be turned into a desk for my new apartment (which I did eventually find and will be posting about that later on! Stay tuned :P ).

After searching a few places, I ended up at a Goodwill store and, once again, did not find the kind of table I was looking for. Discouraged, I decided to waste a little bit of time looking at some other things that were for sale. Just as I was leaving the store, the most glorious and beautiful leather bag caught my eye, and I knew I had to turn around to get a closer look…

ImageI literally could not believe what I was seeing! I had been eying the vintage Dooney & Bourke “All Weather Leather” Essex purses for quite some time now. I even almost bought one off of eBay this past Christmas, but decided against it because it was too expensive for me at the time (The one I was looking at was $75).

I am so glad that I waited, because I found this bag for only $25! I was a bit wary of its authenticity at first, especially since it was priced way under what I thought it was worth. However, after doing some brief research (thanks a bunch to this website and this blog), I quickly realized that I held a truly authentic bag in my hands! WOW!

Here are some more photos of my bag. I was so impressed to find it in such amazing condition at such a low price point! Gotta love Goodwill :)

ImageAll in all, another successful thrifting excursion! The best thrift days are the ones when you initially set out looking for one thing and you end up finding something totally different and unexpected instead! :) Have you ever had a lucky thrifting experience before?

4 comments on “Thrifting Is Truly Amazing!

  1. Whoo hoo !! You got a truly beautiful bag for a wonderful price !! Congrats and good eye. And yes, it is 100% authentic Dooney & Bourke All Weather Leather Essex bag with all the goodies – unsnipped registration tag, Made in USA, brass Duck Fob and the British Tan leather is in great shape ! Paula from http://vintagedooneybourke.wordpress.com/

  2. My favorite shirt came from one of Waco’s thrift stores. Bright pink, yellow, and blue paisley thing. The wife hates it…which is one of the reasons I love it so much.:op

Leave a Reply

