(Re)starting Fresh

Today started my second full week of being back in school, and I’m already feeling a little overwhelmed. So far, my 15-20 hour work weeks combined with my 18 credit-hours of classes this semester are starting to make it near impossible to plan anything extra in my spare time, be it some personal quality time or plans with my roommate/boyfriend/other friends, etc. As it is, I’ve already skipped a few of my classes due to pure fatigue from staying up late the night before either studying or working (or both).

The fact that I’m feeling this exhausted and burned out so early on in the semester is definitely something of concern to me. Two weeks in, and I already need another chance to start fresh. Unfortunately, since my classes have already been paid for, dropping a class is not really an option, nor is working less hours at my job… unless, of course, anyone knows of a fairy godmother who magically pays college students’ bills out of the kindness of her sparkly little heart.

fairy godmother

Yep. Didn’t think so.

I am trying to stay optimistic though. Yes, I’m over half way through college. And yes, I’ve only got two more of the “best years of my life” left to experience until I am thrown, full-force, into the real world. But that’s also two more years that I should make the most of and discover new hobbies, make new friends, and go on some great adventures along the way. Why not take advantage of that?

So, I think one of the best ways I can prevent these next few months of school from swallowing me whole involves conducting a bit of a personal experiment on my part:  I am going to try to do one thing different each day that I wouldn’t normally do. It’s not always going to be something big or major, or even that interesting to talk about, but regardless, I want to try to have a minimum of one unique experience each day that I may not have otherwise done.

I’ve reached a point in my life where even though I should know what I want, I still have not a clue what to do with either myself or my life at all. I’m trying to figure it all out as soon as I can, but it’s harder than I thought it would be. In the meantime, I’m open to exploring all sorts of different things while I still have some extra time to spare. I think this “experiment” will help me find some new loves of people, places, and interests, while also helping to make sure this semester doesn’t quickly become a monotonous cycle of school, work, studying, more school, more work, and more studying.

I have faith that this is going to be a good year. :)

2 comments on “(Re)starting Fresh

  1. Hat to tell you this, but I’m 36, and I still am not sure what I want or how to get it. I don’t think that feeling ever quite goes away. But hang in there–you’ll catch yourself up eventually.

    Bhuddism teaches that the key to happiness is not having what we want, but wanting what we have. Which is easier said than done, but still…

    • Giselle says:

      I’ve heard that teaching before… and I have to agree, it sounds like it would be much easier said than done.

      It’s not that I’m not happy per se, or that I’m wanting for things I don’t have. I just feel like I’m probably not taking full advantage of the time I’ve got right now to explore new things and do things differently. I guess you could say that what I do want is to make more of what little bits of free time I have.

      I think this feeling mainly just comes from my bad habit of falling into an undeviating routine once I start settling into the school year. Now that I’ve been able to identify part of what I think my problem is, I can try to shake things up a bit from time to time so my schedule doesn’t seem so boring and monotonous.

Leave a Reply

